|Duration||7 days / 6 nights|
|Tour Dates||April – mid November|
|Tour Theme||Cultural Heritage, Castles, Wine degustation|
|Hotel Accommodation||Belgrade, Zrenjanin, Subotica, Sremski Karlovci Novi Sad|
- This round travel trip of Vojvodina includes visits to eight cities – Belgrade, Vršac, Zrenjanin, Subotica, Sombor, Novi Sad, Sremski Karlovci, Sremska Mitrovica, as well as visits of two castles – Fantast and Kulpin.
Arrival at the Belgrade Nikola Tesla Airport. Foreign-language tour guide will wait guests with a sign at International Flight Arrival Exit.
Transfer from the Airport to a hotel.
Accommodation and overnight stay.
Sightseeing of Belgrade (4,5 hours).
Cultural entertaining program in the evening (e.g. opera, ballet, exhibition, depends of the time and availability).
Free time and overnight stay at Belgrade hotel.
Visit to Vršac.
Sightseeing of Zrenjanin.
Hotel accomodation, free time and overnight stay Zrenjanin.
Visit to Fantast Castle.
Subotica sightseeing and visit to Lake Palić.
Hotel accommodation at Lake Palić or Subotica.
Free time and overnight stay.
Visit to Sombor and Kulpin Castle.
Sightseeing of Novi Sad.
Hotel accomodation, free time and overnight stay in Novi Sad.
Visit to Fruška Gora and Sremski Karlovci.
Wine degustation at one of the local vine cellars in Sremski Karlovci.
Hotel accommodation, free time and overnight stay in Sremski Karlovci.
Return to Belgrade Nikola Tesla Airport. Note
Visit to Sremska Mitrovica will be organized in case of late afternoon or evening flight from Belgrade
Place Hotel Nights Service Belgrade *3 hotel 2 BB Zrenjanin *3 hotel 1 BB Lake Palić
*3 hotel 1 BB Novi Sad *3 hotel 1 BB Sremski Karlovci *3 hotel 1 BB
- BELGRADE is the capital of the Republic of Serbia and was the capital of Yugoslavia.
Belgrade belongs to the oldest European cities. Archaeologist sights at the Belgrade vicinity show traces of the settlement as early as from Paleolithic period, the older Stone Age. The remains of Neolithic period, as of one of the most important cultures, are also found in the city area, known as the fascinating Vinča culture.
In the ancient times on the site of modern Belgrade was the Celtic oppidum and the Roman castrum Singidunum. In the Middle Ages the rule over Belgrade was passed from Hungarians to Serbs for several times, but Turks seized it in 1521. The Austrians conquered Belgrade on several occasions during the 17th and 18th centuries when they rebuilt and upgraded the Belgrade fortress. At the beginning of the 19th century, Belgrade was finally under Serbian rule and after 1841 became the capital of Serbia. After the First World War, the city became the capital of the Kingdom of Yugoslavia.
Belgrade has many historical monuments, significant streets and beautiful squares. The main street of town, with 19 centuries history long, is Knez Mihailova Street, which has been turned into a pedestrian zone that connects the main city square and the Kalemegdan Fortress, being the most important cultural and historical monument of Belgrade. The pedestrian zone shows all stages of city development, from ancient times through the medieval period, to the modern times and the beginning of the 20th century.
Apart of the central part of the city, Belgrade is known for its four quarters. In Municipality of Vračar there is The Temple of St. Sava, one of the largest Orthodox churches in the world, built in the style of late Antique and early Byzantine styles. Dedinje is the most luxurious residential district with villas surrounded by gardens. On the opposite side of Belgrade confluence, the confluence of Sava and Danube rivers, there are two municipalities – New Belgrade, that was mainly built after the Second World War, and Zemun, the old part of the town, which was separated town that absorbed into Belgrade in 1934.
VRŠAC is one of the oldest cities in Vojvodina. The First findings of the city are originated to prehistoric times and the first written record date back to the Middle Ages. The remains of Vršac castle witness the medieval history of the city. It is thought that Vršac castle was built by the Serbian despot Đurađ Branković in the beginning of the 15th century, as a defense fortification from Turks. However, the Turks seized the castle in 1552. After the Uprising in Banat in 1594 when Serbs fled the city, Vršac received its oriental look. The famous military leader Prince Eugene of Savoy liberated the city in 1716, which afterwards became part of the Habsburg monarchy. In the first half of the 20th century, Vršac became part of the Kingdom of Yugoslavia.
The most important monuments in the city are the tower from 15th century, Bishop’s Court in Baroque style dating the 18th century, the old pharmacy from the end of the 18th century, The City Hall from the mid-19th century and the catholic Church of St. Gerard.
The tower, as well as the castle around it, was built by despot Đurađ after the fall of Smederevo in 1439. The Donjon Tower was fortified at the top of the hill, with the older settlement under it. The finding of the remains of the fireplace on the third floor confirmed that the tower was also used for housing purposes.
Bishop’s Court is the most beautiful architecture in Vršac and the oldest bishop’s court of The Serbian Orthodox Church as well. The Bishop’s Court was built in 1757 and remain the only monument in Vršac from the baroque period.
City Hall represent one of the most important buildings of this type in Serbia, built in 1860 in Neo-Gothic style.
Church of Saint Gerard
The largest Catholic Church in Serbia – its 63 meters high Neo-Gothic bell towers dominate the city panorama. This elegant church, quite certainly belongs to the most mature achievements of Neo-Gothic architecture in Serbia.
For the first time, the City of Zrenjanin appears in historical sources in the middle of the 14th century, as a village built on the three islands of the Begej River. Then, the city was called Bečkerek and it was Hungarian and occasionally Serbian city until the mid-16th century. Turkish Vizier of Serbian origin, Mehmed-paša Sokolović, conquered the city in 1551 and it remains Turkish until the beginning of the 18th century, when it was seized by the Austrians and settled by Serbs, Hungarians and Germans, later by French, Italians and Spaniards. At the beginning of the 18th century, the city was named Nova Barcelona, because of the 74 Catalan and Spanish colonies that were settled in the city area. Nowadays, the city is named after Žarko Zrenjanin.
The magnificent Neo-Baroque palace built at the beginning of the 19th century. The palace got its present appearance with the reconstruction at the end of the 19th century.
The Cathedral of Saint John of Nepomuk
The Roman Catholic cathedral was built in 1868 in Romanesque style with neoclassical elements. Above the main portal of the cathedral there is a high belfry facing the main city square.
The Christian Reformed Church
The church was built in 1891 in Neo-Gothic style with a high belfry on the west side. The church is located in the city quart called Little America.
The castle belongs to the old Dunđerski family and it looks like it has emerged from the Vojvodina Plain – its high white towers dominate all the surroundings. Fantast was built by Bogdan Dunđerski in 1923, who was the member of the richest family in Vojvodina in the late 19th and the beginning of the 20th centuries. The castle represent a mixture of styles, it has elements of Romanesque, Gothic and Renaissance, but it can be compared with medieval castles. The castle is surrounded by a garden, with The Chapel of St. George, where Bogdan Dunđerski was buried in 1943. On the Dunđerski property there is also the famous horse stable, where the best racing horses were raised. The castle was named after famous racehorse Fantast that was raised at that stable.
The first archeological founding of the settlements in Subotica’s area date back to prehistorical period, the city itself is mentioned in written for the first time in 1391.
In the Middle Ages the city was the property of the Hungarian rulers. In the first half of the 16th century it briefly became the capital of the self-proclaimed Serbian emperor Jovan Nenad, whose monument stands on the main square.
In the middle of the 16th century, Subotica was occupied by Turks, at the end of the 17th century it was part of the Habsburg monarchy and in 1918 it became part of the Kingdom of the Serbs, Croats and Slovenian, later the Kingdom of Yugoslavia.
Subotica is one of the most beautiful cities in Vojvodina, it has great examples of Baroque architecture of the 18th century, Academism architecture of 19th century and Secession from the beginning of the 20th century.
The Cathedral of St. Theresa of Avila
The Roman Catholic cathedral was built between 1773 and 1797, in late Baroque style with elements of Classicism. This monumental building is one of the most beautiful and largest baroque churches in Vojvodina.
Subotica’s City Hall was completed in 1910, built in the style of the Hungarian Secession and is considered to be the most picturesque buildings of the city.
The Raichle Palace, named after its architect Ferenc Raichle, was completed in 1904 in the style of the Hungarian Secession and is considered to be the most beautiful and most mature example of this style in all Serbia.
SOMBOR began to develop in the middle of 14th century as a settlement on the territory of the Hungarian royal family Cobor, soon after it became known as Cobor de Szentmihdly. The Turks conquered the city in 1541 and kept it under their rule until 1687, when Austrian army enter the city. In 1749 Sombors receive a charter from Austrian archduchess and Holy Roman Empress Mary Theresa for their merit in the war against the Turks and Sombor becomes a free imperial city. At the beginning of the 20th century, Sombor became part of the Kingdom of Yugoslavia.
The Orthodox Church of St. George was built at the site of the older church in 1761, as a one-nave church with a high bell tower on the west side. The church represent typical example of the Baroque sacral architecture of Vojvodina.
The central part of the city is a pedestrian zone, which connects the most important squares, monuments and famous buildings.
Old Town Hall was built in 1749 on the base of the castle of Count Jovan Branković. The final shape building gain in 1842.
Sombor is also know for the architecture of Županija (Old County Hall) and the Kronić Palace.
Kulpin Castle was built by the noble family of Stratimirović, who arrived at the beginning of the 18th century in Habsburg Monarchy and were one of the few Serbian families that were among the first ones to receive the noble title from the Empress Maria Theresa for their credits in fight against the Turks in favor of Austria.
The Kulpin complex consists of the old small castle, the large castle and the garden that surrounds them. It is a well-proportioned castle built in classical manner, well-preserved and still brings pleasure to the eye.
The castle gained its final appearance in 1912, when it was bought by the Dunđerski family. The Kulpin or Dunđerski Castle has recognizable architecture with a large tympanum and Ionic columns.
NOVI SAD is the main and the largest city of Vojvodina region, the second large city in Serbia, with over 350 thousands of inhabitants. the City of Novi Sad is the political, cultural, economic and educational center of Vojvodina.
The city extends along both banks of the Danube River, separating two different cities in the past, Novi Sad and Petrovaradin that nowadays stands as a whole entity. On the site of modern city were found traces of Neolithic period and Bronze Age, the Roman period and later Ostrogoth, Lombard and Byzantium period, followed by the period of the Kingdom of the Franks in 8th century AD.
In the middle of the 6th century, the Slavs came to its territory, in the Middle Ages it was part of the Hungarian Empire, later in 1530 city falls under Ottoman rule that lasts until 1687 when it was conquered by Austria where it remains until 1918.
The Urban Municipality of Petrovaradin on the right side of the Danube retained the spirit of the late Baroque fortified city with its well-preserved Petrovaradin fortress built according to the Vobanov fortification system and all its composition of suburbs, barracks, Roman Catholic church of St. Juraj and the oldest military hospital in Europe. The fortress itself is known for kilometers of underground tunnels and passages that have not yet been explored.
On the left side of the Danube stands the Urban Municipality of Novi Sad with its network of old streets and small squares turned into a pedestrian zone of the city center.
On the main square stands the Town Hall built in the late 19th century in the manner of Academism and The Name of Mary Church, a Neo-Gothic cathedral that dominates city views with its 72 m high bell tower. In this Roman Catholic Church is placed the famous Vatican Palace built in 1930.
Novi Sad is characterized by many churches, palaces, museums, streets with authentic architecture.
SREMSKI KARLOVCI is known as an old settlement in Srem region that dates back to the Roman period – there was a small Roman fortification on the site of the modern city. The city was mentioned for the first time in the medieval sources from 1308. The Turks conquered it in 1521 and the Habsburgs in 1699. The same year of 1699, the famous Karlovac Peace Treaty was signed between the countries of the Christian Alliance and Turkey. The Catholic chapel of Our Lady of Peace was built in 1817, in the memory of the Cristian victory over the Turks, on the place where the treaty was signed. The round base of the chapel should remind of a round tent in which peace was signed.
The Orthodox Cathedral of St. Nicolas
The most significant church in the city is the Serbian Orthodox Cathedral of Saint Nicolas. The cathedral was originally built in the Baroque style in 1758 with a baroque iconostasis. Later it was rebuild and gained the present facade. In front of the cathedral, there is a main square with The Four Lions Fountain, also built in baroque style in 1799. Next to the cathedral, stands the Patriarchate Court built in 1894 in the style of Accademism.
SREMSKA MITROVICA is the largest municipality in Srem region. In the ancient times, the city was known as Sirmium, one of the four capitals of the Roman Empire during the period of tetrarchy. Many Roman emperors were born in the vicinity of this city. Many military campaigns started in Sirmium. The city became an important Christian center after the Edict of Milan in 313. In the 4th century Sirmium reached 100 thousand inhabitants. After the fall of the Western Roman Empire, Franks, Byzantines, Hungarians, Turks and Austrians ruled over Sirmium taking turns, until it became part of Kingdom of Yugoslavia.
On the main square, stands The Orthodox Cathedral of St. Demetrius built in 1794 in the late Baroque style.
Hotel accommodations and taxes, transfer, foreign-language tour guide services, excursions by the program, visits and admission fees to museums by the program, wine tasting with appetizers at wine cellar in Sremski Karlovci
Airfare, additional transfer services (if necessary), additional wine tasting/lunches/dinners, additional excursions, personal expenses
For more information, prices and availability